Top 3 Thursday: Bookish Places I’d Want to Visit!

It’s almost the weekend, which means it is almost Sunday, which means it’s almost GoT time again, WHICH MEANS it’s almost time for a bunch of my favorite characters to just up and die on me. However! We still have a lot of great days between now and then so I’ll just reserve my period of mourning for another time. Today is Thursday, and you know that means it’s time for another round of Top 3 Thursday! This weekly meme is hosted by A Cozy Reader and this weeks topic is fictional book places you’d want to visit. I find this premise particularly fun because who hasn’t been reading about beautiful *magical* places and wished they could visit.

giphy

The Water Gardens of Dorne from A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

Dorne_Season_5

You didn’t think I was going to open this up with talking about GoT and not include it in my list, now did you? I’d love to have included Winterfell here, because it is home to my favorite lil bbs (the Starks #THEPACKWILLSURVIVE) but it’s cold and dreary and not all that *dreamy* and I wanted to pick places instead of people I’d want to visit. Easily topping that list in regards to the GoT universe is the Water Gardens of Dorne. In the books it’s described as having pale pink marble paves, shade from blood orange trees, terraces overlooking pools and fountains. Technically it’s a private residence for House Martell but it’s also one of the few, if not the only place in all of the Seven Kingdoms where high and lowborn children play as equals. So not only is it stunning, but it’s progressive too!

Velaris (City of Starlight) from A Court of Thornes and Roses by Sarah J. Mass

6f27bd110929c25445328225631e3a7b
as close as I could get.

This series has quite a few places I think anyone would be happy to visit but easily highest among them is the City of Starlight, the Night Courts hidden gem Velaris. The descriptions of this city were some of the most romantic things I’ve ever read. The City of Starlight gets it’s name for good reason too. With stunning views of the night sky, unrivaled by anywhere else in that world, one night a year the stars even fall from the sky in a stunning display. At the heart of Velaris is the “Rainbow” which is what the city is known for. There are hundreds of galleries, shops, sculpture gardens and anything else you could imagine. The people of the city are truly happy and it shows in their art and the way they interact with their world. I think I could easily just slink away forever here.

Howl’s Moving Castle from Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynn Jones

MV5BMTg2NDE1NDI2OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwOTk1NzEyNw@@._V1_SX1777_CR0,0,1777,961_AL_

Oooooh, I just love this story! Not only is the book a total knock out but the movie by Studio Ghibli is truly amazing. It and Kiki’s Delivery Service (I’d put that on my list too) are both my “sick day” movies and they’re such feel goods that I can’t suggest watching them enough! However, despite the numerous places in this world I’d love to visit I think the moving castle would be my top top top. With Calcifer and Markl and this hodge podge home, it easily tops my list!


What are some fictional places you’d like to visit from books you’ve read? Drop me a note in the comments and let me know!

9 thoughts on “Top 3 Thursday: Bookish Places I’d Want to Visit!”

  1. I watched the first two episodes of Game of Thrones and decided it wasn’t for me. Never seen another one. I was in a supermarket a few months ago and everyone was getting excited and a woman in front of me asked me if a man at the next till was Samwell from Game of Thrones – I hadn’t a clue. I was thinking why would there be someone from Game of Thrones in my local supermarket. Turns out it was him and he ended up having his picture took with people and signing autographs.

    Like

    1. Oh wow! That’s crazy that you were at the supermarket with one of the actors! HBO has this habit I’ve found where they go this “shock and awe” route in the first few episodes and I honestly didn’t get into the show until the third or fourth season. For as much as I love the show I get why it isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. The gratuitous violence and sex in the first few episodes turned me off initially but the character and story development in the long run is some of the best I’ve seen. Fans get pretty aggro about it though, which I’ll never understand. It’s just not relevant to me at all if other people like or dislike a show. I’ve loved shows other people hated and really wasn’t a fan of shows people loved – to each their own!

      Like

  2. OMG! I love your 3 choices, they all sound like amazing places to visit. I haven’t watched GoT, but maybe I’m missing out on seeing these visuals … like the City of Starlight! I so want to go there now you’ve described it to me.

    Oh, and I read Howl’s Moving Castle years ago and loved it. So quirky, such fun! And I love Studio Ghibli movies too! 😀

    Like

    1. You know, GoT is a loooot and I love it so much (both the books and the show) but I might suggest reading the books first because I think they shine much brighter. HBO goes for shock value in the start and I get why the violence/nudity turns some people off but if you can look past it, the story development is amazing!!

      I’m so happy you love Studio Ghibli! They’re the feel good movies of the CENTURY!

      Like

  3. Now I think I need to watch GoT because what you mention is what put me off when I first watched an episode or two… but on the other side, like you mentioned as well, I have loved shows and movies no one I know has enjoyed and vice versa too…
    But the locations – I would love to visit them all too..

    Like

Leave a comment